diy solar

diy solar

Question for Brightmount owners

Tripplett

I’m new to solar but have been reading a lot for a year now. I just bought eight of the higher power 44.6” panels and wanted to use the Brightmount rack. However I don’t want to connect the two sections together. Instead I want two 2 panel mounts. Actually I want to buy two kits and leave both separate. That will give me four 2 panel racks.
First question is can the rack be left separate like that?

Second I want to use flush end clamps like this picture. These, if I understand their use right, will let me slide the panels right up to (or maybe even a little over) the ends of the rails.
Am I understanding this right?

Lastly, for current owners, what is the width between the panels when using the supplied mid clamps?
Looks like I’ll only have 1/2” of room with the panels flush with the ends of the rails. Maybe a little more if I can extend them over a little.
Thanks.

Edit: actually I just realized I could either
1) use a nut/bolt with appropriately sized fender washers for the middle and get a 1/2” gap
or
2) just use 2 flush end clamps per panel and have the panels touching in the middle.

Attachments

• IMG_2593.png
    IMG_2593.png
    138 KB · Views: 20
Last edited:
Can't speak to the end thing, but yes, you can easily set up one brightmount as two, smaller birghtmounts.

By separating a single kit into 2 half kits, you will be short a couple pieces, like the rail grounding clip (two per kit, one for each connected double rail). Maybe not important to you.
Structurally, the final mini mounts will not have as high a wind load limit per panel as the 4 panel assembly. Again may not be important to your application.

Mine is a 12 panel (3x kits) using 39.5” panels. Ample room for the supplied hardware. Your panels appear to be on the bleeding edge. Have you thought about a DIY mount using Unistrut or similar?