diy solar

diy solar

Help me fix my situation please.

ShaneB

Hello everyone,
I have recently found this site after much regretted frustration with the a company that is DIY solar but not full on help. Turns out they do the bare minimum to sell you products. Now I need to fix the situation, but only can afford to do it slowly.

Here is what I have:
16 × Crown CR-430 6V 430Ah Deep Cycle Battery. 8s2p = 48v 860Ah
SkyMax Stratus 48 Volt 6000 Watts
3 × 300w solar panels
SkyMax MPPT 20 Amp Charge Controller
Westinghouse 9500DF portable generator

I am not an expert but I am also not ignorant when it comes to electricity. Just not very versed in solar. I am a 100% off grid cabin. Now obviously my solar panels are not enough to keep my bank charged, so we use the genny to assist and it's costing a fortune. I would like to move from this set up and go a different route, but limited on a budget.
I am thinking on removing my current inverter/charger, charge controller and solar panels. Purchasing a EG4 6000xp and 16 × 400w panels, allowing me room to change the batteries up next year.
Is my thinking the best way of fixing my situation?
Am I missing anything?

Last edited:
Hello everyone,
I have recently found this site after much regretted frustration with the a company that is DIY solar but not full on help. Turns out they do the bare minimum to sell you products. Now I need to fix the situation, but only can afford to do it slowly.

This is typical. You need DIY is also short for Design it Yourself.

Here is what I have:
16 × Crown CR-430 6V 430Ah Deep Cycle Battery. 8s2p = 48v 860Ah
48v 6000w split phase inverter/charger
3 × 300w solar panels
1kw charge controller
Westinghouse 9500DF portable generator