diy solar

diy solar

MPP LV2424 (white) won't charge battery from generator unless the unit is turned off.

samuelprsns

I have seen some discussion on this elsewhere, but I still am not clear on exactly what may be going wrong with my particular set up. I bought the [HBK-2 White] kit from shopsolarkits.com with the bigbattery Hawk Max 24v battery. I'm a newbie, and I've been learning the system and working out kinks, but there is one issue I can't seem to wrap my head around.

My setup is at an off-grid cabin, with only the battery and solar, no utility. But since it's winter in Southern Vermont, I get very little daylight, many days none. So I have a propane generator there so I can charge the battery during the day to use at night.

Here's the issue: When I have the lv2424 switched on, it seems to recognize that there is AC power attached to it, but does nothing with it. The little icon is there to let me know that it recognizes that there is power, and it will tell me on screen that there is 120v AC power coming in, but then it doesn't charge the battery. The solar panels are indicating that they're working but in heavy cloud cover sometimes they're only bring in like 20w, so the battery is still only draining, not using the generator at all. The only load is a little 35w fan I have on my composting toilet to keep the place from stinking up. But when I turn the lv2424 off, it begins to show me that the battery is now working with the solar to charge the battery.

Sometimes if the lv2424 has been off and then I turn it on while the generator is plugged in, or if the lv2424 is on and I plug in the generator, for a while it will show that the generator is charging the battery and bypassing that to power the load at the same time, but after a few minutes, that disappears and it goes back to simply not using the generator for anything. This happens even when my battery is at 25v and clearly needs to be charging.