diy solar

diy solar

New EG4 3kW Off Grid All-In-One Inverter - Anyone with experience??

Watts Happening

I call it like I see it.
Looking to throw together a little system for a vacation home of ours purely as a backup to the grid. Called Signature Solar yesterday to order a couple Growatt 3000's and EG4 batteries as well as to ask about their Garage Sale items. They happen to have both of those items available in the garage sale section, discount was pretty hefty but zero warranty.

Anyhow, the lady started telling me about a new product released literally minutes before I called, it's EG4's new all in one inverter at $749. It's got some neat features like a 500vdc max string input. I don't mind spending a bit more, but I don't want to be buying two of these (I need split phase for some mini splits) and finding out two weeks later I'm the sucker that bought the newest 'bad product' etc.

I have ZERO experience with EG4, and from what I read their batteries are great, but any/all new products come with some inherent risk and I thought I'd reach out to fellow solar folks to get their opinions. I assume @Will Prowse will be receiving these shortly, if not already and might have some input?

Attachments

• a06e57b0-b508-4767-a13d-7aa63731a55c__40702.1650893312.png
    a06e57b0-b508-4767-a13d-7aa63731a55c__40702.1650893312.png
    742.9 KB · Views: 15
Just received mine a few hours ago.
looking fwd to hearing what you think. I have been trying to decide on what inverter to go with the panels I like that are nupowa 240watt . under 36in wide 58in long great for RV roof.
voltage has been my enemy on panels and AIO units. between Growatts old 3k lvm vs the new ES unit with 250v, this one is 500v (y) ? it might solve any issue if starts mppt at lower voltages unlike the growatt 250v unit. love watching you and learning keep up the fantastic work.

Guessing voltronic since there are a ton of various versions out there