diy solar

diy solar

Solar off grid cost

Jcluff

Hi there I’m brand new to the world of solar have been around it a bit but elementary level understanding. If I could start by asking a not so simple question like what would a good system cost to entirely run a home normally off the grid minus the heating. I realize that is a hard one I’m just trying to see which direction to even start looking as I venture towards off grid life in the next while.

Complete DIY with frugal shopping and a cheap Chinese inverter. 10-15k (not demeaning the inverter or Chinese, there’s simply tiers to these)
Complete DIY with inspectable items probably 20-30k
Turn key contracted probably (a complete guess here) 50-70k

Complete DIY with frugal shopping and a cheap Chinese inverter. 10-15k (not demeaning the inverter or Chinese, there’s simply tiers to these)
Complete DIY with inspectable items probably 20-30k
Turn key contracted probably (a complete guess here) 50-70k
How long would batteries and such last taken care of

Well, if the requirements are "cost to entirely run a home normally off the grid minus the heating."

The engineering approach would be to better define terms as well as the requirements.

Q1: What is the estimated total daily electrical loads?
This varies by square footage, insulation and weatherproofing, glass surfaces (single/double/triple paned windows), and regional climate demands which could effect lighting needs. You removed the heating burden - but what about cooling; Tucson is monstrously hot compared to Seattle. There are some basic excel worksheets on the interwebs which one could use to begin modelling their loads and seasons.

Q2: How do you interpret good system?