diy solar

diy solar

Easton, PA DIY Solar Project!

wazd

Hello everyone.

I have no formal experience of solar installations. I did all the electrical wiring at home, so I feel very comfortable learning, reading, asking questions, and applying what I learn. I am in the process of adding solar power to our home and decided to do it as part of a family project starting this year.

I wanted to run the following set up that I am planning on getting for our home in Easton PA, and I am hoping for your valuable feedback and expertise on this subject matter.

As of April 22, 2024, this is the usage we have:
Average daily use (KWH) last year 64, this year 51
Last 12 months use (KWH) 16,592
Average monthly use (KWH) 1,383

I am told it is recommended to have a 12 KW solar array for a 100% usage offset. I will be using a battery bank of Battle Born batteries, 12V, 100Ah. I am planning to start with 4 batteries in series and eventually bring it up to 16 batteries total.

I will start deploying (4) 200-watt solar panels connected in series with the goal of deploying additional (24) 400+ watts solar panels. I purchase the first 4 Solar panels as follows:

(4) JJN Bifacial 200 watt, 12v, 10bb monocrystalline solar panels.

The remaining solar panels will be 400+ watts, yet to be determined which would be better for this project. I am researching the possibility of getting panels from international vendors which appear to offer a substantial difference in pricing as compared to local purchases. Not sure is a good idea but have heard of folks going this route to stretch those hard-earned dollars.

Looking to add the following equipment to the setup:

(1) Victron MPPT RS 450V DC 100 amp 48-Volt Tr Solar charger controller.
(1) Victron Quattro 5000VA 48-Volt inverter.
(1) Victron energy lynx distributor
(1) Victron energy GX touch 50 display screen for Cerbo GX
(1) Victron energy Cerbo GX for system monitoring and control