diy solar

diy solar

Mobile Office 12 AC

Buzz68

I'm a surveyor that works for a land developing company. We have had an mobile offices since 1997 and all of them have been powered by a Honda 3000iu generator. In 2019 we purchased a new Sprinter 4x4 and was ready to build. I had a hard time finding someone to do the build. When we did, for power they suggested we go with lithium batteries.This was the first time dealing with lithium battery bank. They would be charged by solar and the vans alternator. So I had this Gucci $$$$ upfitter do everything. They also installed a Pro Air 12 volt AC unit. I would like to have your opion on my system and its longevity. If you would do this? I wanted to give you how we use it. We live in Maryland and during June, July & August or any day that it gets above 75 the AC is used. I will run them down to 20% and on the really hot days if nessary we will run the van to help. During the colder part of the year, I'm only using maybe 10% of the battery bank. Did they make a great and long lasting choice?

IMG_6146.JPG

Attachments

• John's Sprinter Power Diagram.pdf
    2 MB · Views: 20
You've spec'd good quality devices with Victron and LG so you can pretty much remove them from question because with those names you get both reliability and long life.

That leaves the battery. If you get reasonable quality batteries and treat them properly you can expect in the order of 2000 full charge / discharge cycles. They don't then die, they have just fallen to 80% of their original capacity. You can continue to use them for years and years after that so long as they still store enough energy to do what you need. It's important to keep an eye on the battery temperature as you can run into problems with both high and low temperatures so attention to their enclosure is needed. A decent battery will have a BMS on board that is aware of the temperature and will step in to protect the cells if something gets out of spec.