diy solar

diy solar

Polish up your crystal ball

EastTexCowboy

Solar Wizard
Where do you see the DIY solar industry going over the next few years? I’m thinking up to the next five years but any opinions or time frames are welcome.

Battery technology, inverter technology, panels, mobile solar, new technologies? Do you have specific insight on one or more things due to your career or experience?

I’m just looking for a friendly discussion so I’d ask to please leave politics out of it.

I don’t have the years of hands-on solar experience of many of you, but I’ve been a student of alternative energy for a lot of years and the advances so far have been pretty amazing. But what’s just around the corner or down the road a couple of years?

Less DIY and more industry.
I've heard that opinion more than once. What do you think is going to drive that? There is obviously a growing demand for DIY and I think maybe as much push back against it (avoiding any politics but regulatory agencies are going to do what they do). It makes me wonder if the demand will override any other forces at work. I mean, if people have money and want to spend on a widget someone is going to build and sell the widget.

Less DIY and more industry.
Agreed. I think once the demand dies down due to NEM3 and people realizing how much price gouging there is by installers, the "industry" will adjust by lowering their prices significantly to get demand back up, making it more attractive than DIY to the average consumer.

I've heard that opinion more than once. What do you think is going to drive that?
$n is figuring out right now how to separate you from more of your cash.
$n = [ "tax man", "big business" ]
Also the folks who like to mind other peoples business will see a new opportunity to mind other people's business.
Two or three "Keiretsu" will end up owning everthing they can buy and killing pretty much everthing else they can't.