diy solar

diy solar

Seplos BMS to SunSynk Inverter Cable

k44ent

I am very new to all this but am in the process of installing a Seplos 15.5KW battery with a 200A BMS through a SunSynk 8.8 KW Inverter. I understand I need to connect the battery BMS using the CAN port to the inverter. I am not sure what cable I need, is this something I can buy or do I need to make a special RJ45 cable up. Thanks in advance.

battery end , normal utp connection

inverter end :
white-blue pin 4
blue pin 5
green pin 6

be careful in the manual the pins are swapped out

inverter end :
white-blue pin 4
blue pin 5
green pin 6

The inverter manual says 2-Ground, 4- CAN H and 5 - CAN L and the BMS says 4 - CAN H, 5 - CAN L and 3/6 Ground. Does that sound right?

The inverter manual says 2-Ground, 4- CAN H and 5 - CAN L and the BMS says 4 - CAN H, 5 - CAN L and 3/6 Ground. Does that sound right?
the manual of your inverter has the pins swapped...

just told you how i have my 12k hooked up to my seplos's

the manual of your inverter has the pins swapped...

just told you how i have my 12k hooked up to my seplos's
Ok thanks, so stick with what you've said. Basically the same at both ends? CAN L - Blue, CAN H - White / Blue, Ground - Green - Ground? Sorry to sound thick but all this is new to me.

Last edited:
no, on the battery side use standard pin-out for rj45, as shown in the link.

at the inverter side, crimp on a new rj45 where
white-blue = pin 4
blue = pin 5
green = pin 6

Thank you, really appreciate your help. Should I go for a CAT 6 cable?
it depends where and how long your comm cable will be.
if it will be longer than 4m i would, if running through the same conduit as your battery positive and negative, i'd use cat6 Sftp ( extra shielded)
otherwise cat5/5e is just fine

it depends where and how long your comm cable will be.
if it will be longer than 4m i would, if running through the same conduit as your battery positive and negative, i'd use cat6 Sftp ( extra shielded)