diy solar

diy solar

Solar Panels - Series vs Parallel I don't know which way to set mine up...

K7WMC

Van-dweller Evangelist
I'm very new to DIY Solar for my van. I'm setting up my system with a MPP PIP 800W 12 volt Inverter Charger. But I do not understand if I should connect my panels in Series or Parallel. Mainly because I don't understand the major differences between the two setups. I do understand that with Series the panels are connect Positive to Negative at each panel and if one panel is shaded it will effect all the panels. Where as Parallel connection will only effect the panel that is shaded.
I have 4 new 100W Renogy panels for my new system currently but might add another panel for a total of 500W later after my initial setup. So my question is for @Will Prowse what do you recommend for the MPP PIP 800W Inverter? Series or Parallel with 400 watts of panels? I do recall you mentioned in your video of the 800W unit (no more than 500 Watts) and I will not be exceeding that amount. Is there advantages of one method over the other? Which is more efficient with a system my size? Is a Parallel setup more complex? I understand that I have to have MC4 branch connectors for a parallel setup. I understand that some people do both Series and Parallel. Sorry I'm so naive on this subject but it is difficult for me to understand. Any recommendation or advice on this will be followed to the letter. I will be using 2 Battleborn 100ah for my battery bank. Thanks in Advance.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2019-09-14 at 12.35.51.png
    Screenshot 2019-09-14 at 12.35.51.png
    366.6 KB · Views: 1