diy solar

diy solar

ExpertPower 12v 3000W Pure Sine Wave Inverter Charger

bgpeters

I've searched and do not see a discussion here of the ExpertPower 3000W Pure Sine Wave Inverter Charger. The price is certainly nice. The charger has profiles for many battery types, but I only care about LiFePO4.

Is anyone out there using one of these? I'm planning my components for converting my RV from LA to LiFePo4 and saw this one. I think I like the specs on the Inverter. I'm a bit fuzzy on whether the Charger voltages are a good design or not.

In the user manual I see that for LiFePO4 the charger will use "constant current charging (constant current stage) -> constant voltage (constant voltage stage) -> float (constant current stage)". Boost is targeting 14.4v, and Float is at 13.8v. Does this sound right? Is floating at 13.8v a bit high?

Thank you for any feedback. I admit, I'm a newbie.

Last edited:
I’d like to hear any feedback on this unit as well.
Am Looking for something like this for my sprinter van, with good reviews, dependable, and a legit company.
I really wish Growatt and others made a 12v/3000w all in one inverter unit.
Would also like to see idle consumption of such units… though I don’t plan on leaving it on when not in use.

This inverter-charger looks very similar to my Sungoldpower 3000/9000-watt inverter-charger, although mine has a max charge rate of 95 amps. The charge profiles are similar except mine has a selection for Euro gel batteries (whatever that is. I'm not an expert on any of this stuff).
For cycling my batteries during winter (my batteries and inverter-charger are used in our RV during camping season, winter season I have them at home) I use setting #4 on the rotary switch (again, the same configuration as this unit) which is for sealed lead acid with 14.4 volts/13.6 volts.
Mine was $100 more so I think the Expertpower unit is a good deal. Just my opinion though.

Last edited: