diy solar

diy solar

Aims controller/4way charger does not charge

Solar_freak

I just perchased an Aims 80 amp controller/ 4 stage charger. The second I powered it up, and I triple checked the manual, the red alarm light came on and it does not charge?

A diagram or maybe pictures might help us figure out what's wrong if its an installation problem.

Having the same issue. We have 4 x 12V 200ah - wired to 48. I only have 4 out of 6 - 350 watt panels coming into the system. We have the aims 80a mppt ( 60 dc amp out) . We have the aims 48v 6000w inverter charger.

We can't get the batteries to charge / not can we get the DC load to turn on. It just stays stuck on the red alarm light . I am a beginner with all this, I'm just hoping someone can point me on the right direction.

IMG_20230906_083224_DRO.jpgIMG_20230906_083135_DRO.jpgIMG_20230906_083211_DRO.jpgIMG_20230906_083411_DRO.jpg

What is the model number of the charge controller?

38V is never going to be enough pv power to charge a 48 volt setup. My Sungold tp6048 for instance requires 120volts DC aka pv voltage to even start working.

What is the model number of the charge controller?

38V is never going to be enough pv power to charge a 48 volt setup. My Sungold tp6048 for instance requires 120volts DC aka pv voltage to even start working.
just wanted to say - Thanks so much for replying!

It's the AIMS SCC80AMPPT , I have 2 more panels, that should kick it up over 55v. If that's never going to be enough to kick on the inverter/charger that we have. (* keep in mind , I just started learning all this *) . We may have to go with a different set up. We were discussing a Plan B, where we had the invertor / charger pulling from the batteries only.

BUT we did disconnect the inverter from the solar charge controller, and now it does kick on the DC load with nothing attached, but I still have that red fault light on.

How are the panels wired? They should be in series to develop enough voltage.