diy solar

diy solar

Are SOK batteries EMP proof?

ed6269

Hello everyone
I have always wondered how a battery would fair in a EMP event and how to protect it .
Most batteries have a plastic case and if you have a BMS in the battery I figured it would get toasted during a large EMP event, that being said I understand that if you take items that you need to protect and place them in a simple metal container such as a metal garbage can and seal the lid with foil tape that would save the electronic components from the event.
Since the SOK comes in a metal case and you could seal the top with foil tape easily I started wondering if it would provide at least some protection from an EMP.
What do you think? I know that the holes in the case for the battery terminals might be an issue for the EMP to pass threw depending on how they are sealed , and I am no expert on EMPs so maybe you have more insight or knowledge than myself so what do you think?
IF the case for the SOK would protect from a EMP wouldn't that just make a great selling point for SOK and make it one of the best batteries out there (Which it all ready is)
Thanks for looking
Ed

Many years ago I was involved with the design of (lead acid) batteries for a missile silo. As I recall , our EMP parameter was "Could it resist an EMP pulse equal and opposite to the power of the battery?" We did not deal with a BMS but I am sure a civilian version of one would have to be scraped off the ceiling if it saw a pulse like that. My advice? Stay away from nuclear explosions.

Many years ago I was involved with the design of (lead acid) batteries for a missile silo. As I recall , our EMP parameter was "Could it resist an EMP pulse equal and opposite to the power of the battery?" We did not deal with a BMS but I am sure a civilian version of one would have to be scraped off the ceiling if it saw a pulse like that. My advice? Stay away from nuclear explosions.